Image map
 My name is Lorraine I am married with two sons. I have been registered as a childminder in Caerphilly, Wales since September 1999.

 At any one time I can look after six children under eight years old, with a maximum of three of them being under five and two being under eighteen months.  Whilst I have had no formal training for working with children who have special needs, I have worked extensively in a voluntary capacity looking after children who have had physical and behaviour disabilities and with children who have had little or no sight. Therefore, all children no matter what their personal strengths or weaknesses are, will be always welcome. When I registered to be a childminder I attended a course run by Social Services and the National Childminders Association, and both my husband, Paul, and I had various police and security checks done to ensure my suitability to look after children.

 Checks do not stop after registering and I have an annual inspection to ensure that my home meets high standards of safety, that my public liability insurance is valid and that my attitude to looking after children will provide them with the best possible care and attention. Since registering I have attended college and recently obtained a Developing Childminding Practice qualification. I have also recently passed the Extending Childminding Practice course.  I have also undertaken a Quality Kite mark Certificate to ensure that the care of the children is of the highest standard at all times. I have also attended one day workshops for child protection and child behaviour and have a first aid certificate.